I have just discovered the
:bwipeout command, for which the
:bdelete, but really delete the buffer. Everything related to the buffer is lost. All marks in this buffer become invalid, option settings are lost, etc. Don't use this unless you know what you are doing.
Other than the obvious, I'm unclear on what the downside to using this command is.
My option settings will almost always be reset to the same values when I next open the file in question, and losing my marks doesn't seem to warrant the ominous warning: "Don't use this unless you know what you are doing."
What is included in the "etc.", and what terrible consequences could there be that I'm not foreseeing?